Parliamentary panel on ECP appointments to meet today

Parliamentary panel on ECP appointments to meet today

The parliamentary committee on appointment of Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) members will convene its meeting on Thursday to discuss appointment of the commission’s two members.

According to the report, the committee, during its meeting, will consider nominations by the government and the opposition for appointment as ECP members from Punjab and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The two ECP members from Punjab and KP — Altaf Ibrahim Qureshi and Irshad Qaiser — respectively, had retired on July 26 after completing their five-year constitutional term.

The prime minister has proposed the names of Ahsan Mahboob, former officer of the Police Service of Pakistan; Advocate Raja Amer Khan of the Supreme Court; and Dr Syed Pervaiz Abbas, a former officer of the Pakistan Administrative Service (PAS), for the vacant post of the ECP member from Punjab.

The premier has suggested the names of retired Justice Ikramullah Khan, former PAS officer Faridullah Khan and Advocate Muzammil Khan of the Supreme Court for the appointment of ECP member from KP.

The meeting will be chaired by Human Rights Minister Dr Shireen Mazari.

Defence Minister Pervez Khatak, Minister for National Education and Vocational Training Shafqat Mehmood, Minister for Planning and Development Asad Umar, Railways Minister Azam Swati and Senator Naseebullah Ullah Bazai will attend the meeting from the government side while Rana Sanaullah, Shiza Fatima Khawaja, former prime minister Raja Pervez Ashraf, Shahida Akhtar Ali and Sikandar Mandhro will represent the opposition at the meeting.

The post Parliamentary panel on ECP appointments to meet today appeared first on Pakistan Today.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: